top of page

2018 Updates

Hi all,

Hope you all are doing well and staying warm during the new year! I wrote a post at the beginning of the year sharing my resolutions for 2018, and I wanted to share where I am with those goals.

Updates on my New Years Resolutions:

Embracing my Creativity

So far in 2018, I've been super busy with work, and my creativity has unfortunately been put on the back burner. I've tried to find simple ways embrace it through decorating our apartment, developing my website, and improving my Instagram. While this new year goal is slightly ambiguous, I am finding ways to develop and utilize my creative mind.

Taking on More Adventures

This weekend was one of the first weekends that my boyfriend, David, and I didn't have any big plans. Typically, during the holidays, we tend to get pretty busy with family plans, holiday parties, and traveling to see friends and family. Luckily, we had a weekend to relax and catch up on sleep and embrace our inner-homebody. We did take some time this weekend to explore one of the best antique malls in Wisconsin (in my opinion) and traveled to Illinois to check out some Goodwill Stores.

I love shopping at antique malls as there is so much history to explore, and I love the design, colors, and patterns of mid century furniture decor. Luckily, we live only 30 minutes from Waterloo Antique Mall. It's a great place to find cheap, high quality antiques. David and I ended up getting a pair of '70s floral aqua and indigo throw pillows, two mod kitchen towels, and a '60s canary yellow Turkish coffee pot. Overall, I was super excited about our finds, and couldn't wait to get home so I could incorporate them into our mid century modern styled loft.

Goodwills and other thrift stores are some of my favorite places to shop as I never know what I'm going to find. I love finding unique pieces that I can't just buy anywhere and that have a history! It's also a great opportunity to give items a second life and to recycle unwanted items. This weekend, we went to one of my favorite Goodwills located in St. Charles, Illinois. I've gotten a v cute jumpsuit and an embroidered Ann Taylor '90s crop top and pant set here before, so I was eager to return. This weekend, I was lucky enough to find a 1930s French Jorelle pastel floral, pearlescent beaded handbag as well as a mini vintage whiskey brown leather Coach belt bag. I snagged both of these purses for $10 each! They were both great finds, and this continues to be one of my favorite vintage hidden gems.

Staying Active

While we are only a week into the new year, I have been trying to stick to my goals and have been working extra hard! I decided with the start of the new year to join a new gym (conveniently located one block from my apartment). While I do try to be an active person, like everyone else, I definitely can slide into bad habits like skipping the gym during the winter months. Despite the cold, I'm determined to keep going to the gym and to keep staying active.

Stay cozy and keep up your 2018 goals!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page